Author Topic: [Resolved] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence  (Read 10906 times)

Daithi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2017, 09:40:14 AM »
@ Nomad - I don't think it is - I've been holding off to do all the keyboard support in one go.

@ Ushas - for targetting body parts? If so, it may unlock after you end turn. It's fixed in V18 (but that won't see the light of day for another few weeks)

Nomad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2017, 10:38:57 AM »
Yeah, it's totally in the Options settings for Keybinding.
I've now set it to T.   =)

ushas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #17 on: June 30, 2017, 10:40:07 AM »
I dunno, what is then "Target Body Part" key binding? edit: ninjaed :)

No targeting, you wanted to make those other factors apparent. So recreated according to Nomad's helpful visual story. Was sloppy:( Only managed to copy those errors. Sorry!

Guys lined up exactly as in the first image. On the mouseover with a gun - no target info. In the log for both:
Code: [Select]
BattleControlScript.CalculateShotDifficultyFromDistance. This shot(1) is inside effective range(8). Final difficulty from distance: 11
BattleControlScript.GetShotDifficultyFromDirectionalCover. This character is strafing to fire from tile
ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Argument is out of range.
Parameter name: index
  at System.Collections.Generic.List`1[TileScript].get_Item (Int32 index) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.CalculateShotDifficulty (.CharacterMainScript attackerScriptIn, .CharacterMainScript defenderScriptIn, Int32 tileDistanceIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.GetRangedChanceToHit (.CharacterMainScript attackerScriptIn, Vector2 attackerTilePos, .CharacterMainScript defenderScriptIn, Int32 distanceModifierIn, Int32 thisAttackUseModePosIn, Single bodyPartCTHMultiplierIn, Boolean clampCTHIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.DetermineMouseOverAction (Boolean isAnimationTrigger, Boolean drawPathIn, Boolean shotgunFireModeUpdateCoverAndCharInfoIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.ReportLeftClick () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at MouseTrackerScript.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
(Filename:  Line: -1)
BattleControlScript.GetTilePhysicalPosition. Method called. Requested tile: (6.0, 15.0)
BattleControlScript.CalculateShotDifficultyFromDistance. This shot(2) is inside effective range(8). Final difficulty from distance: 22
BattleControlScript.GetShotDifficultyFromDirectionalCover. This character is strafing to fire from tile
ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Argument is out of range.
Parameter name: index
  at System.Collections.Generic.List`1[TileScript].get_Item (Int32 index) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.CalculateShotDifficulty (.CharacterMainScript attackerScriptIn, .CharacterMainScript defenderScriptIn, Int32 tileDistanceIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.GetRangedChanceToHit (.CharacterMainScript attackerScriptIn, Vector2 attackerTilePos, .CharacterMainScript defenderScriptIn, Int32 distanceModifierIn, Int32 thisAttackUseModePosIn, Single bodyPartCTHMultiplierIn, Boolean clampCTHIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.DetermineMouseOverAction (Boolean isAnimationTrigger, Boolean drawPathIn, Boolean shotgunFireModeUpdateCoverAndCharInfoIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.ReportPlayerInput (Vector2 mouseGridPositionIn, Boolean isRightClickIn, Boolean isAnimationTrigger, Boolean drawPathIn, Boolean shotgunFireModeUpdateCoverAndCharInfoIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at MouseTrackerScript.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

Why strafing there?


Then you right-click to shoot, another exception:
Code: [Select]
BattleControlScript.DisablePlayerInput. Method called
BattleControlScript.DetermineRightClickAction. LOCKING INPUT. Setting up ranged attack. Strafe required. Use mode position is: 0
ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Argument is out of range.
Parameter name: index
  at System.Collections.Generic.List`1[TileScript].get_Item (Int32 index) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.DetermineRightClickAction (Vector2 selectedTileGridPositionIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at BattleControlScript.ReportPlayerInput (Vector2 mouseGridPositionIn, Boolean isRightClickIn, Boolean isAnimationTrigger, Boolean drawPathIn, Boolean shotgunFireModeUpdateCoverAndCharInfoIn) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
  at MouseTrackerScript.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

Changing to HtH then gives target information but can't attack or move for the rest, that's the locked state right?
« Last Edit: June 30, 2017, 10:42:06 AM by ushas »

ushas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #18 on: July 10, 2017, 06:47:30 PM »
On locked input:
Ok, so yeah, it's the second error itself that locks the input down or so.

First there is this error when it tries to get targeting CTH, wrongly thinking it should strafe -> we don't see a tooltip (see the first image in the OP). But as said before, the input isn't disabled at that stage. Sam can do other things like HtH attack. He can move and it will update targeting info correctly, and then there is no problem when shooting at previously bugged enemies. So the first error isn't cause of the locked input.

But if I will try to shoot (right-click) at the moment when the targeting info is still bugged (ie. no tooltip), it will disable player's input, then throw an exception, not enabling the input afterwards for the rest of the battle*. This second exception happening at the right-click, see the 2nd log error above, is the consequence of the first targeting error state.

Ad (*): In the log from the point of the bugged shot, there is no line with "BattleControlScript.EnablePlayerInput" happening anymore.


On strafing error:
Now back to the first exception - why the game tries to get ranged CTH via strafing when Sam clearly sees his targets?

Attached are images of two more situations and the log excerpts from 3 for the last couple of turns:
Sam -> brother -> sister -> Sam (when the error happens)

I'm not much wiser from that, but maybe it will help you.

Was able to recreate several times though, so at least can try categorize stuff. But take it with a grain of salt.

Certain: Sam has to be at the corner and points at either of enemies with pistol equipped.

Less-certain:
-- was able to recreate this at the full-cover corners of the car.
-- brother and sister are standing next to each other, at least one of them is adjacent to Sam.
-- they are usually in Sam's LOS.
-- the error occurs right at the Sam's turn start -> the source is perhaps in one of the previous turns (eg. the sister's?)

Phantoms:
-- usually after brother was wounded in one of the previous turns
-- both enemies moved in the last turn, pathfinding around each other
-- one of them attacks Sam, or tries to or so
-- tried to click or point the mouse on various places during the sister's turn (but seen no input enabled during their turn)

Daithi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #19 on: July 11, 2017, 11:42:41 AM »
This is very useful info - have 3 smallish things to do with this update, then will have a second pass on bugs - should be able to root these out - will keep you posted.

ushas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #20 on: July 12, 2017, 12:23:52 PM »
Thanks and good luck.

I will try to do some more bug reporting for the next few days when having time. There is at least one more complex issue.

Daithi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #21 on: July 13, 2017, 09:50:21 AM »
Cheers! Yeah, I think there are some issues surrounding fire also... down to last addition now. Have modified the way the combat queue works, it's simpler but more functional now (you can see who will act in next turn), so hopefully this might short circuit those errors.

ushas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #22 on: July 13, 2017, 05:08:10 PM »
I see. It's always a good sign if something is possible to simplify. Those queue issues are fairly reproducible. At least for me, if it depends on how one plays. Can also re-check with v18 if you're unsure. 

Btw. I meant that there are things yet to be reported. Alas trapped the butterfly fairly easily during the yesterday's night testing. Maybe it won't be so hard to fix, after all.

Daithi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: [Confirm Fix] Can't move or shoot in opening sequence
« Reply #23 on: July 17, 2017, 10:00:10 AM »
Good team effort - this is now fixed. Whether it's the last of the triggers for breaking input, remains to be seen. Will close this one off.